Downloading PcTools might have been a mistake.....


DomDom14363 User
posts: 1169uploads: 6
0
Hi! I just got a web page warning/threat about the fact that I was illegally in possession of a copy of PCTools and that it would be reported to the company who makes that software (don't remember the name)......So I deinstalled it right away, deleted the download folder from KAT with the Gutmann method (35 pass), and erased all the traces I could find in the registry and I checked for any folders left......So now I'm curious/anxious as to what I should expect next.........
Any idea?
Tks!
EDIT: They also had my IP number. I know it's easy to get it from anyone......

Edit part 2: It's not Pc Tools, it's PC Boost.......
zeke2341239 Torrent Helper
posts: 6008uploads: 123
0
your okay scare tactics
stalk_me2054 Super User
posts: 778uploads: 0
0
Probably be coming to kick your door in and assassinate you. tittertitter No really im not sure but ill be interested what other people think. I never had this problem before. i wouldn't worry to much mate. Im 99% sure nothing will come from it
jOhNy5iSaLiVe327 User
posts: 101uploads: 0
0
i dled a copy of pc tools and it worked great..think they are just bsing u. just like that copy of i think it was avg with like a 11 yr product key. then after a month it started saying u need to dl a new one or it was gonna term the pro but it never did...dl on!
darkan9el201 User
posts: 61uploads: 0
0
ignore it, you've done what they obviously wanted you to do, PCTools is crap anyway.
Try Comodo Free or panda Cloud Free, also try using a Tor browser to surf da net: https://www.torproject.org/projects/vidalia.html.en
DomDom14363 User
posts: 1169uploads: 6
0
Probably be coming to kick your door in and assassinate you. tittertitter No really im not sure but ill be interested what other people think. I never had this problem before. i wouldn't worry to much mate. Im 99% sure nothing will come from it

LOL! Yeah, they'll send the Terminator after me!lol
DomDom14363 User
posts: 1169uploads: 6
0

Hi! I just got a web page warning/threat about the fact that I was illegally in possession of a copy of PCTools
A web page from who ??

From the company that makes PCtools (don't remember the name.....)
DomDom14363 User
posts: 1169uploads: 6
0
Tks everyone for your answers, I feel better now! And I'm redownloading it!
DomDom14363 User
posts: 1169uploads: 6
0

Hi! I just got a web page warning/threat about the fact that I was illegally in possession of a copy of PCTools
A web page from who ??

From the company that makes PCtools (don't remember the name.....)

Hi! I made a mistake, it's not Pc Tools, it's PC Boostshy......And I got this web page threat from Pgware, the company who makes pC Boost.
Ok, you downloaded a crack, and tried to update it...or you didn't stop it from updating itself...
Next time you download whatever 'by other means'...make sure you stop it from updating itself.
PC Tools is crap anyway..titter
stalk_me2054 Super User
posts: 778uploads: 0
0
DomDom14363

Hi! I just got a web page warning/threat about the fact that I was illegally in possession of a copy of PCTools
A web page from who ??

From the company that makes PCtools (don't remember the name.....)

Hi! I made a mistake, it's not Pc Tools, it's PC Boostshy......And I got this web page threat from Pgware, the company who makes pC Boost.
Ok, you downloaded a crack, and tried to update it...or you didn't stop it from updating itself...
Next time you download whatever 'by other means'...make sure you stop it from updating itself.
PC Tools is crap anyway..titter
lol

Report a bug